Why do pretty people automatically assume that if you are nice to them that you want to date them? I've had a couple instances recently where good looking guys who also happen to have pretty cool personalities are fun and engaging at first but shortly thereafter back off like I've sneezed the plague in their general direction. One of these guys specifically is funny and has the same sense of humor I do and we seem to get along well as friends. I have a more rare type of humor with sarcasm mixed with pessimism while still staying positive and his humor is very similar to me. But I've never made any sort of pass at him or given him a little wink wink. I will admit to him or anyone else who wants to know that I would like to be his friend. I'm always down to hang out with anyone that can make me laugh. But that doesn't mean I want to hold hands and make out. Almost makes me not want to be nice to pretty people because I don't want to be clumped into that "creepy chubby girl that obviously wants me and is trying too hard" category. That's not a good category to be put in.
As I've been working out lately (tho still not losing very much weight...blah) I've been getting a little more confidence to start up conversations rather than waiting for others to approach me. But again, if that's going to be taken as an "obvious" desire to date and possibly marry that person, I might just go back to my old more shy, distant ways with people I don't know very well. It's hard to make new friends if you don't hang out with them at some point but if you don't ask or at least make it known that you'd be down to hang out, that will never happen. It's a twisty road, this making new friends business.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment