Friday, May 8, 2009

Lower. Maybe a little lower. Yeah, right there!

I hurt my back last weekend. I put on my cape and tried to keep up with Matty P. at the gym on Saturday. In his defense, he warned me it was gonna be intense. I figured that since I had been going to the gym 4-5 times a week for over a month, I could handle it. I knew it wasn't going to be easy but I was willing to give it a try. I thought worst case scenario: it was too intense for me and I stopped.

So late morning, we head over to the gym. (Side note: My on again/off again non-boyfriend that I follow and drool over at the gym was there. Right when I pointed him out to Matt, he looked over...busted) We go on the elliptical/step machine for 12 mins or so. I didn't almost pass out and die this time! Man, I'm improving! Moved on to a set of squats, ab crunches using the exercise ball, lunges, and more ab work where you keep your legs straight out in front of you and lift and lower all the while keeping your core engaged (which is stupid and no one should ever do that again). In between exercises, I stretched, made sure I was well hydrated. We moved upstairs to the weights area...did some dead lifts, which I now know aren't just called that out of coincidence. Went to Submarina for a healthier type lunch. In all, an excellent work out.

Sunday comes along. I woke up and my legs were sore. Went to church, and the Cbad street fair. Walked around a bit. Legs were sore but I still had my superhero cape on. Sunday night, I feel my lower back getting a bit tight so as I watched TV, I sat on the living room floor stretching. Woke up Monday morning...my lower back had been in some sort of horrible painful accident while I slept. It hurt so intensely to even move. Consistent dull ache from my lower back to my upper legs with occasional sharp shooting pains all thru-out. Slowly got ready for work. Honestly thought I was going to need to wake my sister up to help me put my socks and shoes on but after about 5 minutes, I was able to do it all by myself. Got to work...pain. I'm not a big crier. I don't like crying in front of people. It's just not my thing. Sat in my office and had tears in my eyes in front of my Director and Asst. Director from a mix of the pain and frustration. Usually with pain like that, you can find a spot how you sit that you're at least mildly comfortable so long as you don't move...I couldn't find that spot.

So I went home, layed down, went to the doctor, she gave me pills and I've been slowly recovering ever since. YAY!

No comments:

Post a Comment