Friday, May 22, 2009

You're so vain, you probably think this blog is about you

Why do pretty people automatically assume that if you are nice to them that you want to date them? I've had a couple instances recently where good looking guys who also happen to have pretty cool personalities are fun and engaging at first but shortly thereafter back off like I've sneezed the plague in their general direction. One of these guys specifically is funny and has the same sense of humor I do and we seem to get along well as friends. I have a more rare type of humor with sarcasm mixed with pessimism while still staying positive and his humor is very similar to me. But I've never made any sort of pass at him or given him a little wink wink. I will admit to him or anyone else who wants to know that I would like to be his friend. I'm always down to hang out with anyone that can make me laugh. But that doesn't mean I want to hold hands and make out. Almost makes me not want to be nice to pretty people because I don't want to be clumped into that "creepy chubby girl that obviously wants me and is trying too hard" category. That's not a good category to be put in.

As I've been working out lately (tho still not losing very much weight...blah) I've been getting a little more confidence to start up conversations rather than waiting for others to approach me. But again, if that's going to be taken as an "obvious" desire to date and possibly marry that person, I might just go back to my old more shy, distant ways with people I don't know very well. It's hard to make new friends if you don't hang out with them at some point but if you don't ask or at least make it known that you'd be down to hang out, that will never happen. It's a twisty road, this making new friends business.

Friday, May 8, 2009

Lower. Maybe a little lower. Yeah, right there!

I hurt my back last weekend. I put on my cape and tried to keep up with Matty P. at the gym on Saturday. In his defense, he warned me it was gonna be intense. I figured that since I had been going to the gym 4-5 times a week for over a month, I could handle it. I knew it wasn't going to be easy but I was willing to give it a try. I thought worst case scenario: it was too intense for me and I stopped.

So late morning, we head over to the gym. (Side note: My on again/off again non-boyfriend that I follow and drool over at the gym was there. Right when I pointed him out to Matt, he looked over...busted) We go on the elliptical/step machine for 12 mins or so. I didn't almost pass out and die this time! Man, I'm improving! Moved on to a set of squats, ab crunches using the exercise ball, lunges, and more ab work where you keep your legs straight out in front of you and lift and lower all the while keeping your core engaged (which is stupid and no one should ever do that again). In between exercises, I stretched, made sure I was well hydrated. We moved upstairs to the weights area...did some dead lifts, which I now know aren't just called that out of coincidence. Went to Submarina for a healthier type lunch. In all, an excellent work out.

Sunday comes along. I woke up and my legs were sore. Went to church, and the Cbad street fair. Walked around a bit. Legs were sore but I still had my superhero cape on. Sunday night, I feel my lower back getting a bit tight so as I watched TV, I sat on the living room floor stretching. Woke up Monday morning...my lower back had been in some sort of horrible painful accident while I slept. It hurt so intensely to even move. Consistent dull ache from my lower back to my upper legs with occasional sharp shooting pains all thru-out. Slowly got ready for work. Honestly thought I was going to need to wake my sister up to help me put my socks and shoes on but after about 5 minutes, I was able to do it all by myself. Got to work...pain. I'm not a big crier. I don't like crying in front of people. It's just not my thing. Sat in my office and had tears in my eyes in front of my Director and Asst. Director from a mix of the pain and frustration. Usually with pain like that, you can find a spot how you sit that you're at least mildly comfortable so long as you don't move...I couldn't find that spot.

So I went home, layed down, went to the doctor, she gave me pills and I've been slowly recovering ever since. YAY!