Monday, April 6, 2009

The windy road to no place at all...

YAY went to the desert this weekend! Started out a little windy on Friday but Sat and Sun were gorgeous! Apparently most of Friday was super windy but I wasn't there so I'm only going based off stories. Leave it up to Aunt Shelly to turn 40+ mile an hour winds into a game of parachuting for the whole camp. We laughed quite a bit this weekend. Seemed like we were all a bit goofy on Saturday. Can't remember the last time I laughed so much and for so long that my stomach hurt...good stuff. Because Friday was so windy, we didn't even bother putting up the tents for fear that we would be blown away so I got to sleep in Shelly and Steve's trailer...LOVE THE TRAILER LIFE! Don't get me wrong, I don't mind tent sleeping, especially with an air mattress. There were some folks this weekend that slept in the back of trucks with only blankets between them and the bed of the truck and them and the bright hot morning sun. But the trailer! I woke up around 9am both mornings because I didn't have to hear the bikes start riding between 5-6am! Definitely putting a trailer on my B-day AND X-mas list.

I drove on the 76! I know what you're thinking. You're thinking, "But Kate, isn't the 76 just an illusion? A horribly long confusing road used by others to just get you lost in the middle of Butt Freakin' Fallbrook/Valley Center?" And my answer to you is, "YES, that was once true. That's what I thought as well..." HOWEVER this weekend, I found that it is real! It is still a horribly long confusing road that takes you thru the heart of VC/Fallbrook, thru Vista and eventually to O-side. I definitely don't plan on using it very often (if ever) but it's nice to know that it's there.

No comments:

Post a Comment