Tuesday, April 28, 2009

Spin spin spin...STOP!

I can't seem to focus. I've been super forgetful. I've used the old saying "I'd forget my head if it weren't attached" about 10 times in the past 2 weeks. I'm usually pretty good about remembering the smaller stuff. That is, until recently. I'll stop what I'm doing, walk into another room and by time I get there, I've already forgotten why I went there. In my line of work, these little bouts are referred to as "senior moments" but I'm not a senior. I think it's time for a vacation or a really strong sedative.

Almost finished unpacking. Still a few boxes in the kitchen area but other than that, the place looks pretty good. There's still some stuff I'd like to get such as a base and chairs for the dinning room glass I got, patio furniture, coffee table, etc. As soon as I buy nails, I'm gonna hang up pictures around the house. It should be nice. AND we're hoping to have a get together soon as a house warming party.

I'm well aware of my ability to bake and not cook. I can bake the crap out of cookies/cakes/etc. Technically, I know how to cook but I'm not great at it. Some people have that desire to cook and feel joy as they are cooking. They will add stuff that wasn't in the recipe cuz they know it will give the meal a little something extra... I am not this person. This has been made more clear lately. My sister will come home and make dinner. She likes to cook. While she does this, I clean. I'm a pretty good cleaner. I would rather spend an hour and a half cleaning than 30 minutes cooking... it's just who I am. I also realize as an "income challenged" adult, cooking is inevitable for me. My sister isn't going to be home every night to cook me dinner. I guess my biggest thing is that when I decide to cook it's usually very short notice, I'm already pretty hungry, and I've done no prep work. My sister-in-law is a phenomenal cook. She cooks for 5-7 people a night, and I can't think of a time that I had dinner at their house when it wasn't absolutely delicious. The way she's able to do all that is she will go thru the grocery store ads, plans a menu for the week based on the best deals, and shops/preps accordingly. And the reason why it's so good is years and years of practice. I need to do that.

Friday, April 17, 2009

Can't breathe..(sigh)

I've been in a really weird mood lately. I feel anxious at least half of every day. It charts from mild anxious thoughts of "what if this happens" to points where I'm having a hard time catching my breath. That's scary. I haven't noticed a pattern as to what might be causing it other than an overall stressful existence. Once I move, if it continues on the way it is, I may go to the doctor or whatever to find a solution.

So I was reading someone elses blog the other day and he just had little tid-bits and random ideas thru out his blog. I kinda like that. I may weave that into mine as well to spice it up a little.

I've been working out about 4 times a week for a month or so but haven't lost much weight in terms of pounds. I've noticed that clothes fit better and such but I'd still kinda like to have that ability to say "I lost (insert #) lbs by working my keester off over the last month, all while tweaking my knee in the process." I realize it takes time and I'm not asking for 2 digit numbers a week, but I could use a little incentive. Luckily the gym hotty I've mentioned before is still there almost every day. Odd as it may sound, he motivates me to go. No, we've never talked and he's not verbally encouraging, but the hope of maybe getting that glimpse of his ripped self makes me go. It's a pleasant experience to see him. PS I made eye contact and gave a little smile the other day in his direction & I caught him looking at me a few times the other day...The wedding date is TBD.

Realized this week that I'm not the rock star party girl I used to be back in college. Probably because I have a big girl job now with responsibilities and all that other business where i have to be up and fully functioning by 6:15am. Went out on Friday night to a bar with my sister, stayed out until about 3am. Went bowling with friends and family Saturday night, stayed out til 12pm and had to be up for the early church service Sunday. Went out to Karaoke Monday night, stayed out til about 1am. Tuesday we had some friends over and we went to the spa and then hung out til about 1am...I AM TIRED!! Well, not as much now cuz I just packed and hung out at home so I got decent sleep last night but I'm going to a concert tonight that will prolly keep me up til 12-1am, then I get to move Saturday...I commend the party people who live off 4-5 hours of sleep a night. I am not one of these people. (Yawn)

Friday, April 10, 2009

It's been 6 months...it's time to move again

The definition of a nomad: a member of a people or tribe that has no permanent abode but moves about from place to place... (There was more to the definition but that didn't relate to what I wanted to talk about so it didn't make the cut.) Yes, it has been about 6 months since I last moved which means it's time to move again. It's funny, I lived in the same room from the age of 5 to 23. I'd rearrange my furniture on occasion, get rid of old stuff, get new stuff, but I stayed in the same room the whole time.
At the age of 23, I decided I wanted to be independent and move out of my little room so I moved out with a friend to the town immediately west of where I grew up. We lived there about 9 months before another friend wanted to move in with us so we stayed in the same apartment complex, just moved to a bigger unit. That was on the 2nd floor...probably walked up and down those stairs 80 times that day. Stayed there for 1 year and 8 months. Around that time, some personal stuff happened within the family so I decided to move in with my sister. We didn't have a place at first but a friend of the family had a place that they wanted someone to house sit for a couple months. So from July to Sept, we stayed there. In Sept, my sister and I moved to a complex in Vista. We knew it was more money than we wanted to pay but we were in a bit of a bind and needed a place ASAP. So we took it. We signed a six month lease and the six month mark is up. We didn't want to continue to overpay for a mediocre place when we knew we could do better. So we found a place about 2 blocks away from our current place and plan to move in there the weekend of the 18th. The nice thing about this place is everything has been refurbished so it'll all be clean and new. The other thing, which I'm deciding is a good thing cuz I'm sick of moving every other day, is we are in a year lease. The only reason I see myself moving is if I meet the man of my dreams, we get married and move to a big nice house.
Don't get me wrong, there are some positives about moving. I get to clear out stuff I've accumulated that I don't really need or want. Shows your true friendships cuz they are willing to help. The new place is right across the street from a fire station. I'm gonna have to divise a plan to ensure those trucks get dirtied up every week so they have to wash them on the weekends.(And if they want to do it shirtless, who am I to argue?)
This time, I've decided to rent a U-haul. I learned my lesson from last time. Even with the places being so close, it's just a pain. I'd rather just have 1 big trip. Load all the crap out of the one place and unload it in the new place all in one swoop.

Monday, April 6, 2009

The windy road to no place at all...

YAY went to the desert this weekend! Started out a little windy on Friday but Sat and Sun were gorgeous! Apparently most of Friday was super windy but I wasn't there so I'm only going based off stories. Leave it up to Aunt Shelly to turn 40+ mile an hour winds into a game of parachuting for the whole camp. We laughed quite a bit this weekend. Seemed like we were all a bit goofy on Saturday. Can't remember the last time I laughed so much and for so long that my stomach hurt...good stuff. Because Friday was so windy, we didn't even bother putting up the tents for fear that we would be blown away so I got to sleep in Shelly and Steve's trailer...LOVE THE TRAILER LIFE! Don't get me wrong, I don't mind tent sleeping, especially with an air mattress. There were some folks this weekend that slept in the back of trucks with only blankets between them and the bed of the truck and them and the bright hot morning sun. But the trailer! I woke up around 9am both mornings because I didn't have to hear the bikes start riding between 5-6am! Definitely putting a trailer on my B-day AND X-mas list.

I drove on the 76! I know what you're thinking. You're thinking, "But Kate, isn't the 76 just an illusion? A horribly long confusing road used by others to just get you lost in the middle of Butt Freakin' Fallbrook/Valley Center?" And my answer to you is, "YES, that was once true. That's what I thought as well..." HOWEVER this weekend, I found that it is real! It is still a horribly long confusing road that takes you thru the heart of VC/Fallbrook, thru Vista and eventually to O-side. I definitely don't plan on using it very often (if ever) but it's nice to know that it's there.